General Use of Colorado State University Vehicles
The use of all University-owned vehicles will be confined strictly to conducting official business for the University. Personal use of University vehicles is prohibited.
The department head to which a vehicle is assigned must authorize the use of the University-owned vehicle and ensure the vehicle operator reads and understands all vehicle use policies and procedures. Drivers must acknowledge their understanding of the policies and procedures in an agreement kept on file within the drivers department. Vehicle drivers are required to keep the University-owned vehicle clean (inside and out) and in good repair. Drivers are also responsible for any traffic and parking violations incurred while using the vehicle. All University vehicles are to be operated in a lawful manner as to not bring vehicle operation into question by anyone. If a complaint is received about the operation of a University vehicle, steps will be taken to eliminate the bad driving behavior which may include revoking the privilege to use University-owned vehicles.
Seat Belt Use
Colorado State University recognizes that seat belts are effective in preventing injuries and fatalities. We care about our students, faculty, and staff, and want to reduce the risk that, in the event of an accident, a passenger is injured or killed. Therefore, all students, faculty, and staff of Colorado State University must wear seat belts when operating a University-owned vehicle. This includes any vehicle on our premises or while on University business. All occupants also are to wear seat belts or, where appropriate, child restraints when riding in a University-owned vehicle or in a personal vehicle being used for University business. All students, faculty, and staff, and their families, are strongly encouraged to use seat belts, or child safety restraints, whenever they are driving or riding in any vehicle.
Anyone involved in an accident with a State or University vehicle, whether or not there are any physical damages must report the accident to local authorities within 24 hours. In addition to the police report, a university accident report must be completed as required by the Colorado State University Police Department and Transportation Services (970-491-0016). Insurance information is contained in the operator’s manual in the blue packet inside the vehicle. Departments are responsible for the first $1000 in repairs to the vehicle. Employees utilizing personal vehicles for business use are not covered under the University insurance policy. Your personal auto policy will be in force.
Vehicle Mileage Log
Short-term and permanent vehicle assignments
All vehicles are billed monthly for mileage, administrative, and other fees that apply. Transportation Services requires the submissions of a vehicle mileage monthly on all short-term and permanent vehicle assignments for billing purposes. The department will be contacted if there are discrepancies in the mileage reported.
University vehicles may not be used for commuting unless authorized by University Administration and Transportation Services. Authorizations will be made on the basis of convenience to the University, the work function, the type of vehicle, and the type of commuting requested. Personal use of these vehicles is prohibited and all University vehicle policies will apply to these vehicles. Vehicles authorized for commuting will be returned to, and remain with, the employees department during periods of foreseeable non-use such as the commuter’s use of annual leave or extended sick leave.
Fuel and Oil Purchases
Rental vehicles and some department vehicles are assigned a Wright Express credit card. The card is unique to each vehicle and must remain with the assigned vehicle. The credit card may be used only for purchases for the vehicle to which the card is assigned. The Wright Express Credit Card is for fuel and oil purchases only. Repairs or other purchases should be referred to Transportation Services for approval.
Misuse of the credit card and unauthorized charges will be reported to campus police and the department head of the user department for appropriate actions. The department or the individual will be responsible for all unauthorized charges. Present the Wright Express credit card to the vendor prior to purchases with the exception of point of sale purchases, to ensure acceptance of the card.
NOTE: The Wright Express Fuel credit card can be used at point of sale pumps when they are available.
Please do not sign gasoline charge slips unless it is regular credit slip form used by the oil company represented by the vendor. Please be sure the following information is clearly shown on the charge slips:
- The vendor’s name, address and name of company represented.
- The date of purchase, the vehicle license and unit number, odometer reading, the amount of gallons purchased and cost of each item.
Please Perform the Following When Fuel is Purchased
- Check oil level in crankcase (add oil only if level is at the “add” mark).
- Check tires for proper inflation.
If tire air pressure is low, check and, if needed, inflate to recommended pressure printed on vehicle doorpost.
- Clean exterior windows if necessary.
Deans, Directors Department Heads or Chairs of the departments to which vehicles are assigned are responsible to ensure compliance with this policy.
Every driver of a University vehicle is vulnerable to public criticism. Many complaints and reported misuse can be avoided if each driver adheres to the following rules:
- Do NOT use a University-owned vehicle for any personal transportation.
- Do observe all traffic rules and regulations.
- Do drive carefully, safely and courteously.
- No alcoholic beverages are allowed in or are to be consumed in any university vehicle.
- Seat belt usage is mandatory for all passengers in all University-owned vehicles.
Citations for all parking and traffic violations will be the personal responsibility of the vehicle operator. This includes parking citations received while parking on the CSU campus.
Whenever a vehicle is damaged through abuse, negligence, misuse, or when driven by a person under the influence of alcohol or narcotics, the department employing the driver of the vehicle will be furnished with a police report or with a complete statement of the circumstances by the Department of Transportation Services. The department or the individual shall be responsible for all damages.
Cell Phones and Texting
Cell phones should not be used while driving a state owned vehicle. In cases where a call must be taken, the driver should pull to the side of the road and stop, completing the call from the side of the road. Texting is against the law in Colorado. Text messaging means reading from or entering data into any handheld or other electronic device, including for the purpose of short message service texting, e-mailing, instant messaging, obtaining navigational information, or engaging in any other form of electronic data retrieval or electronic data communication. As with phone calls above, if a text must be read or answered, the driver should pull to the side of the road, stop and answer the text.
Portable Audio Devices
Colorado State University will not allow earphones or headphones of any type to be worn by a person operating a University owned vehicle. Listening to portable audio devices, through ear or headphones, while driving a vehicle is illegal in most states, including Colorado. It has also been proven to be very distracting and dangerous for vehicle drivers. This includes, but is not limited to MP3 players, CD players, DVD players, and cell phones.
Tire chains will not be provided for use on University vehicles. If weather conditions are so bad that tire chains are necessary to travel, for student, faculty, and staff safety reasons, University vehicles should not be on the road. All season tires are installed on all vehicles and provide acceptable handle in all types of weather conditions. Tire chains are very hard on vehicle parts and tires. Any department using chains will be responsible for any and all damage to the University vehicle.
Out of State or Country Travel Authorization
Colorado State University vehicles may be used for out of state travel if the department head determines it is more economical than public transportation. The Wright Express credit card is valid anywhere in United States at service stations listed on the Wright Express publication in the glove box.
University vehicles may not be taken into Canada or Mexico without prior written consent from Transportation Services. Special insurance and other requirements may affect these types of trips and must be taken care of prior to the trip being authorized.